So far i have been making it up as I go..

Daveyboy

So far i have been making it up as I go..

Postby Daveyboy » Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:35 am

Hi fellow hypermilers,

I was looking for like minded drivers and google led me here. So here I am.

Brief history - I have been driving for 18 years now and I have almost* always preferred to own fuel efficient cars. In the beginning a fuel efficient car made a dramatic reduction in my insurance premium, however, as time passed, the expense of fuel became a major factor in my driving style. Then, least importantly to me at first was the emissions/ environmental consideration. So I've always driven fairly... how to describe.. "lethargically". Only rarely will I exceed the speed limits and during those times i am very conscious of the extra fuel I am burning unnecessarily.

* slight deviation from this was when in 2009 I got a local job and bought an RX-8, which i had for 2 years. Fun, yes, but watching the fuel gauge drop as you drive took its toll on the experience. Mixed emotions when I sold it.